Find Scholarships To Finance Your Study - Fully Funded International Scholarships for International Students

Australia Awards Scholarship


Australia Awards Scholarships formerly known as Australian Development Scholarships (ADS) are prestigious and highly competitive scholarships provided by the Australian government to students from eligible countries in Asia, Africa, the Middle East, and the Pacific regions. These scholarships are offered for full-time undergraduate or postgraduate studies at Australian universities and are aimed at developing the skills, knowledge, and leadership qualities of students who will contribute to the development of their countries upon their return.

Read Also: George Brown College Scholarships

The Australian Government has been providing scholarships to international students since the 1950s, and the Australia Awards Scholarships program was introduced in 2015, combining the Australian Development Scholarships and the Endeavour Scholarships and Fellowships programs. The program is funded by the Australian Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade (DFAT) and managed by the Department of Education and Training.

Australia Awards Scholarship Participating Universities

This document lists Australian institutions that participate in Australia Awards:

Australia Awards–Participating Institutions [PDF 195kb]
Australia Awards–Participating Institutions [Word 114kb]

Level/Field(s) of Study

To be eligible for Australia Awards, you must choose Undergraduate or Postgraduate Programs aligned with your country’s development priority areas as specified in the participating country profiles. However, please note that Australia Awards do not cover training in aviation, nuclear technology, or military instruction.

Australia Awards Scholarship Participating Country

The following are nations qualified to apply for Australia Awards Scholarships:



Middle East


Australia Awards Scholarship Benefits

Typically, the benefits of the scholarship encompass a full coverage of tuition fees, return airfare, an establishment allowance, a contribution towards living expenses (CLE), Overseas Student Health Cover (OSHC), an Introductory Academic Program (IAP), Pre-course English (PCE) fees, among others. You can find a comprehensive list of benefits on the official website.


The scholarship is awarded for the minimum duration required for the recipient to finish their academic program, as specified by the Australian higher education institution, which also includes any preparatory training.


Here’s a revised version of the list in an SEO-optimized format:

  1. Minimum age requirement: Applicants must be at least 18 years old on February 1st of the year they begin their scholarship.
  2. Citizenship: Applicants must be citizens of a participating country listed on the Australia Awards website, and must be applying for the scholarship from their country of citizenship.
  3. Residency status: Applicants cannot be citizens or permanent residents of Australia, nor can they be applying for a visa to live in Australia permanently.
  4. Relationship status: Applicants cannot be married, engaged to, or in a de facto relationship with a person who holds, or is eligible to hold, Australian or New Zealand citizenship or permanent residency at any time during the application, selection, or mobilization phases. Residents of Cook Islands, Niue, and Tokelau with New Zealand citizenship are eligible but must apply for a Student visa [subclass 500].
  5. Military service: Applicants cannot be current serving military personnel.
  6. Previous awards: Applicants cannot have previously received a long-term Australia Award unless they have resided outside of Australia for twice the length of the total time they were in Australia. For example, if a previous awardee spent four years on an Australia Awards Scholarship in Australia, they will not be eligible to apply for another Australia Awards Scholarship until they have resided outside Australia for eight years.
  7. Criminal activity: Applicants cannot hold convictions for criminal activities, including those relating to Child Protection and PSEAH, in their home country or elsewhere.
  8. Secondary school recipients: Recipients under the Pacific Secondary School Scholarship Program (PSSSP) who completed their secondary school education in Australia in the year prior are eligible to apply for a long-term Australia Award.
  9. Specific criteria: Applicants must meet any specific standards established by the Program Area or the government of their country of citizenship, such as having worked a certain number of years in an appropriate sector.
  10. Admission requirements: Applicants must be able to satisfy the admission requirements of the institution where the award will be undertaken. If the recipient cannot satisfy the institution’s admission requirements, the Program Area may need to withdraw the award offer, which may not be known until Program Areas request a placement at selected institutions.
  11. Visa requirements: Applicants must be able to satisfy all requirements of the Department of Home Affairs to hold a Student Visa. If the recipient cannot satisfy the visa requirements, the Program Area may need to withdraw the award offer.
  12. Academic level: Applicants cannot apply for a scholarship for a course of study at an academic level lower than they have already achieved. For example, they cannot apply for a Master’s scholarship if they already hold a PhD.
  13. Disclosure: Applicants must inform the Program Area of any connection or relationship to staff employed at Program Areas (including locally engaged staff at post) or with managing contractors to ensure that the application may be properly and transparently managed.

Australia Awards Scholarships Policy Handbook

The Australia Awards Scholarships Policy Handbook provides guidance on the administration and management of the Australia Awards program. It sets out the policies and procedures for the program’s implementation and is a key reference for Australian Government officials and stakeholders involved in the program.

However you can refer to the link below to read more on Australia Awards Scholarships policies and procedures.

Application Instructions

To apply for this scholarship, check the open and close dates for your country and select your country of citizenship/residency from the list of participating countries for eligibility, priority areas, and application instructions. Online or mail applications are accepted, with a deadline of 1 May 2023 at 11:59 pm AEST. For detailed and up-to-date information on how to apply, it is essential to read the how to apply page, visit the country-specific pages, and the official website (link provided below).

Application Link